As you know, today was my first day of orientation at my new job. It’s a faith-based, Catholic owned and run hospital. The only faith-based hospital in the county it’s located in, actually. During my interview I was told there are morning and evening prayers said over the intercom every day. That impressed me. And then today I was simply amazed. In this age of political correctness, we actually started the day of orientation with a prayer and then listening to a hymn. (A beautiful hymn I’d not heard before I’ll try to find to share with you.) But then at the end of the day we ended with the group of us walking to the lovely hospital chapel together and having what was termed a “missioning service.” It consisted of us praying together and then each having our hands anointed with oil that had been blessed while an individual prayer was said and the same beautiful hymn was playing in the background. We were told it was the administration’s way of sending us on our “mission” to be part of the staff there and provide compassionate and holistic care to all of our patients. I was amazed that this was done in today’s culture of everyone being so politically correct and so careful not to offend anyone. As my mom pointed out, they could “get away” with this because it’s privately own, not publicly. But still. I’ve worked at another faith-based, Catholic run hospital where we did have a morning prayer over the intercom every morning but nothing close to what we did together today was ever done. This hospital doesn’t just talk the talk… they walk the walk.

As I was sitting in the chapel I had a strong sense of “coming home.” I felt, as I have since my interview there, that this is the job I was meant to have. This is the job I was guided towards. I haven’t had that strong a feeling that I’m doing exactly what I’m supposed to be doing with my life since the last two times I went to Guatemala. So it was a pretty great day! :)

**I couldn’t find an mp3 file or video, but I did find the lyrics.*

Holy Ground

When I walked through the doors I sensed his presence
And I knew this was a place where love abounds
For this is a temple
the God we love abides here
And we are standing in his presence
On holy ground
We are standing on holy ground
And I know there are angels all around
Let us praise, praise God now, praise him anyhow
For we are standing in his sweet presence
On holy ground
In his presence
I know there is joy beyond all measure
And at his feet sweet peace of mind can still be found
For when we have a need he is still the answer
Reach out and claim it
for we are standing
On holy ground
We are standing on holy ground
And I know there are angels all around
Let us praise, praise God now, praise him anyhow
For we are standing in his sweet presence
On holy ground

