Today is my mom’s birthday.  I called her, of course, to wish her a Happy Birthday.  She once said none of her three children would ever dare not call her on her birthday, and she’s right.  She’s always made our birthdays special for us, so of course we wouldn’t forget hers. 

You know how “they” say women turn into their mothers as they grow older?  I’ve often joked that I don’t have to worry about that happening… I already have!  That’s not a bad thing, though.  My mom happens to be a very strong, independent, intelligent, witty, warm, compassionate, beautiful woman.  If I happened to have gotten any of those traits from her, I’m proud to give her the credit. 

I’ve said before that I think mother/daughter relationships are the most complex relationships in the world.  And I’m truly happy that my mom and I have a great relationship today.  It wasn’t like that always.  We butted heads horribly when I was a know-it-all teenager.  She wanted credit for the years of experience she had and I, being a teenager, didn’t want to give her that credit.  But as I got older, I was more and more willing to listen to her wisdom and realize she just wanted to help me learn from her mistakes so I didn’t have to make them myself.  She was only looking out for me.  But not many teens have the maturity to see things that way.  Now mom and I get along very well and I love and admire her dearly.  I’m reaching an age when a lot of my friends are losing their parents and I can’t imagine not having mom to call and talk to.  I am very thankful to have her around.  I know how lucky I am.   So, Happy Birthday mama and I love you.   

