As any of you who read my blog regularly, or the blogs of my sister, mom, and aunt, you know how close our family is.  We are always up to date on what’s going on in each other’s lives.  And today I was was thinking about the fact I am thousands of miles away from my mom, sister, brother, and nieces and nephews.  I miss them.  I don’t belong thousands of miles away.  I belong there on the west coast with them. 

When I moved away a year ago, I really did have my reasons for doing it.  And it was something I felt I had to do because I knew I would regret not doing it more than I would ever regret doing it.  And I would have regrettednot having taken the chance I took.  But I don’t regret the move, even though I can’t wait to get home.  It served a purpose and taught me a lesson, so there is no reason to regret it at all.  Any experience, good or bad, is not wasted time if you learned a lesson from it. 

This experience, being so far from home, taught me that I need to be be geographically closer to my family.  This is the second time in my life I’ve tried to move thousands of miles away.  (The first time was at 19 and I moved to Connecticut for a year.)   I was homesick that time, too, and couldn’t wait to move home.  The lesson has finally sunk in this time… I am just not meant to be so far from home.  Yes, I mean home where my heart is.  But I’ll be there soon and all is well…

