Some of you won’t get why this is a big thing… but those of you who read my blog regularly or my sister’s will understand.  We both have a relationship with dad that could be described as conflicted.  He hasn’t called me since my 16th birthday almost  exactly 23 years ago.  Any time we talk on the phone I call him.  For the past 23 years that’s how it’s been. 

I had called him today to tell him something and got the answering machine.  I didn’t bother leaving a message because I wasn’t sure he was even in town.   But about 15 minutes later my phone rang and it was dad.  I was surprised and pleased.  He did try, he did make an effort, by picking up the phone.  It made me smile.

Now, I have to share what I was calling my dad to tell him.  My step sister is pregnant and the baby is due in early July.  I had a dream the night before last that I was in town visiting and I was holding the baby.  And the baby was definitely a girl.  The fact I dreamed about  my step sister is odd to begin with, since we’re really not that close.  And I thought it was interesting I would dream that the baby was so definitely a girl.  I really haven’t given much thought to the gender of the baby at all.  So I called dad just to share this odd thing with him.  Imagine my surprise when he told me a recent ultrasound showed the baby is a girl.  Of course, I had a 50% chance of being right, but I just thought the whole thing was odd. 

