Ok, so this post is going to be a little different coming from me.  Those of you who read my blog with any regularity know I don’t usually comment on political issues.  But something has come to my attention recently I wanted to take the time to comment on.

I’m sure most of you reading this, if not all, have received a mass e mail about the campaign to send Christmas cards addressed to “Any Wounded Soldier” to Walter Reed Army Medical Center, right?   And then you probably also received another one with a link to the page on www.snopes.com (a site that dispels urban legends) explaining why this mail can not be delivered.  Basically, it’s a National safety issue.  There is always the chance that a terrorist could put anthrax or some other biological agent in a Christmas card.  Just because it’s a Christmas card does not automatically mean it is safe and innocent.  There is also the issue of hate mail being sent to wounded soldiers in the guise of a Christmas card.  I can’t begin to imagine the morale crusher that would be.  Here’s this man (or woman) who was wounded fighting for their country and they are spending Christmas in a hospital instead of with family and then they receive hate mail.  

There are those people who might say it’s an overreaction to stop this mail from being delivered.  Some might say we could get around the problem of biological agents and hate mail by screening every piece of mail before it’s delivered.  Now, I support our troops 110%.  I have family members who are former members of the military.  A few have fought in Vietnam and the Persian Gulf war.  While I love the idea of Christmas cards being sent to these soldiers to support them, it is just not safe.  Terrorist could very easily tamper with innocent looking Christmas cards for nefarious purposes.  If the people in our country charged with keeping our military men and women safe have thought of this, you can be damn sure terrorists have, too.  And as for screening every bit of mail, well, that sounds like a good theory.  And if it were at all practical I’d be behind the idea totally.  But it simply is not practical.  You would be putting the people doing the screening in danger of being exposed to whatever biological agents may be in the mail.  And you would also need to determine just where the manpower to spend the time screening each and every piece of mail was going to come from. 

I don’t think it’s an overreaction at all keep this mail addressed to “Any Wounded Soldier” from being delivered.  I think it’s a matter of it being better to be safe than sorry.  That’s my two cents.  Feel free to let me know your thoughts.

