Tonight I was talking to a close friend of mine about a decision I made to move back to Oregon soon.  Well, as soon as I can.  That will probably be this spring or summer.  But anyway, I was telling her all about Saturday Market and how fun it is and the wonderful hiking trails near my old apartment I lived in before I moved to Ohio.  And how they’re building a brand new hospital building in town that will be opening in August.  She laughed and said it sounded like I was very excited about this decision.  I realized I am.  Then I described to her how I used to spend my “perfect” days off work when I lived in Oregon a few years ago before I ended up in Ohio…

I would sleep late, have a good breakfast and get in the car.  I would sing along loudly and off key to the radio as I drove to the coast.  Then I would go shopping in the funky fun little shops on the bayfront of maybe check out the craft and antique store.  Then I would go for a very long walk on the beautiful stretch of beach near where I grew up.  (It’s also near the sand dune that my sister tried to convince me the Easter Bunny lived at the top of, but that’s another story.)  I would just soak up the carefree feeling of the sand between my toes.  Then I would stop by my very favorite hole in the wall seafood place right on the beach for the most wonderful shrimp cocktail and clam chowder for dinner.  And then I would drive home singing loudly and off key along with the radio again, smiling and happy and tired from the fresh salt water air.  I’m looking forward to spending a perfect day like that again. 

