A local young man, 24, has screwed his life up beyond belief over some bad choices and poor judgment.  That is just sad.  The aforementioned young man was drinking, smoking marijuana, then got in his car and was speeding.  He hit another car in an intersection when he ran a red light and killed four people; two young mothers in their 30s and two children.  A third child survived and is in the hospital with serious injuries.  This man is going to jail for a very long time.  To his credit, he is remorseful and does comprehend just how badly he screwed up.  I can’t possibly imagine how he is going to be able to live the rest of his life with the knowledge that he killed four people.  I can’t imagine what it must be like to be 24 years old and know that your life as you know it is over.  My mind just can’t begin to wrap around that concept.  Call me a bleeding heart liberal, but on some level I do feel badly for what he’s going through … and for what he’s going to have to live with forever.  Of course I feel sorrow for the family and friends of the four people who died.  They are in my thoughts and prayers.  And I believe this man deserves any sentence he’s given.  I can just empathize a little bit with the position he’s in.  He didn’t intend to hurt anyone when he made those really poor choices.  But he DID cause their deaths and that is his responsibility and he now has to pay the consequences of his actions.  I know it sounds like I’m straddling the fence here… I’m just seeing both sides of the story.  Any thoughts to share?

