I’ve never been a particularly picky eater. My food preferences have stayed pretty much the same for as long as I can remember, and for as long as I can remember there are very few foods I flat out will not eat. In my twenties first living on minimum wage and then being a broke college student, I lived on the cheapest foods I could find. Top Ramen noodles, boxed macaroni and cheese, the cheap higher fat ground beef… you know what I mean. Then when I could afford to buy “real” groceries, I started cooking a larger variety of things but still stuck to a few staples, a few dishes I knew I could make well. Lately though I’ve been experimenting more with different recipes, trying new dishes. And I’ve gotten really picky about where I grocery shop. There’s a grocery store here in town that sells a lot of organic items and caters to the vegan and organic crowd. But they have a terrific meat counter and produce department. I buy their “conventional” items usually, as opposed to the organic stuff, and it’s still better quality than I have found at other chain grocery stores in town. I never thought I was discerning enough to tell the difference in quality, but it’s now come to a point where I simply won’t buy my meat or produce anywhere else. Am I really turning into a foodie after all these years?

