Last night I was driving along a residential street in the dark. I came to a four way intersection and stopped. It was clear, so I started to cross the intersection. When I was about halfway across a boy maybe around 13 or so on a skateboard tripped on the sidewalk on the far side of the intersection and slid off the sidewalk into the edge of the street. He was only off the sidewalk a few inches and I stopped immediately and waited for him to get up and back on the sidewalk before I proceeded through the intersection. As I went past him I noticed he was flipping me off. I’d never gotten any closer than halfway across the intersection from him when he was off the sidewalk, so I’m not really sure why he felt the need for the rude hand gesture.

On the other hand, though, I was reminded of someones act of kindness towards me today. There’s a country song I heard on the radio that had some lines in that reminded me of this. The lines are “Treating your neighbor like he’s your next of kin wouldn’t be gone with the wind if the world had a front porch like we did back then.” My dad has lived in the same house for 37 years now. For many of those years the same couple lived in the house right next door. We became very friendly with them. The wife, her name was Frankie, would always call me over to her house to give me homemade sweet pickles whenever she canned some. She knew how much I liked them. She did this for no other reason than to bring me pleasure. It was truly just an act of kindness. One that thirty some years later I still remember.

