Over the past 15 years, I’ve slowly and gradually just kept putting on more weight.  Poor food choices and not enough exercise is the reason.  And I know what to do about it.  Eat better food choices and get more regular exercise.  I have a great elliptical machine in my living room I really need to make more use of.  And over the past year I have been improving my eating habits but still have a ways to go.  Anyway, tonight I stepped on the scale and saw that I’m now very close to a weight I consider just unacceptable for myself.  I’m not comfortable revealing the exact number here, but it’s much more than is healthy for a person of my height.  Reading that number on the scale felt like a wakeup call. Enough is enough.  I can change this.  It is within my control.  In fact, I am the only one who can change it.  So I need to find some self discipline and stop buying potato chips at the store.  No more sugary, empty calorie snacks from the vending machine at work, no more fast food for breakfast on the way home from work because it was a hectic night and I need some “comfort” food.  And as for the exercise, well, just DO it!  I did make use of the elliptical machine tonight and my goal is to start with four nights a week and increase both the duration of the workout and number of days a week slowly.  I’m announcing this publicly this way, I guess, so I have to be a little more accountable for my behavior when it comes to losing weight. I know what I need to do… and this wakeup call was hopefully the motivation I need to do it. Wish me luck!

